

# **Urban Design Network Conference**

## New Towns 14 November 2024

### **Programme**

10.00 am Welcome

Lindsey Richards - President, RTPI

Vicky Payne - Chair, Urban Design Network

#### 10.20 am The History of New Towns and Settlements

David is Research Manager at the Royal Town Planning Institute, where he leads on delivering the Institute's research strategy, commissioning new research for the benefit of the planning profession. David will set out the long history of new towns and settlements as a policy tool, highlighting the benefits and drawbacks.

Dr David Mountain - Research Manager, RTPI

#### 10.50 am Practical Delivery and Lessons Learned

Patrick is AECOM's Masterplanning Lead for the UK+I.

His work has developed and applied urban design principles to the masterplanning of landowners, developers, planning authorities and development agencies. Projects of relevance include: the Woodbrook Eco-village at Lisburn; Welborne Garden Village in Fareham; Ebbsfleet Garden City in Thames Gateway; Manydown Garden Town at Basingstoke; and Brookleigh (Northern Arc) at Burgess Hill.

Patrick's presentation will draw out key lessons and insights from this experience highlighting technical and practice issues and considering how planning and delivery challenges might be addressed in the future.

Patrick Clarke - Masterplanning Lead, AECOM

#### 11.20 am Audience Q&A

**David Mountain** - Research Manager, RTPI **Patrick Clarke** - Masterplanning Lead, AECOM

Chair: Colin Bannon - Vice Chair, Urban Design Network



#### 11.40 am Break

#### 11.55 am National Policy Landscape

Sowmya is a Director at Arup and member of the New Towns Taskforce with 30 years global masterplanning experience. She will wrap up the session by explaining the role of the New Towns Taskforce and the government's vision for a new generation of new towns, sharing insights into the emerging process and policy.

**Sowmya Parthasarathy -** Director, Arup & New Towns Taskforce member

12.25 pm Audience Q&A

12.45 pm Event Close