This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.


RTPI SW Awards for Planning Excellence 2017

The RTPI SW Awards for Planning Excellence operate in conjunction with the RTPI National Awards: the SW Awards assess those project submissions to the national awards that relate to the South West. 

Judging is currently underway.  Shortlisted projects include:

Excellence in Planning to Deliver Housing
Chaddlewood, Plympton, Plymouth submitted by Barratt David Wilson Homes and Plymouth  City Council

Stafford Close Housing Scheme, Christow, Newton Abbot submitted by Dartmoor National Park Authority

Tadpole Garden Village, Swindon submitted by Crest Nicolson

Creating Sustainable Communities on Salisbury Plain submitted by Defence Infrastructure Organisation/WYG

Excellence in Planning for the Innovative Delivery of Infrastructure

Army Basing Programme, Salisbury Plain Training Area submitted by Defence Infrastructure Organisation/WYG

Excellence in Planning to Create Economically Successful Places

Collaborating with Industry to Sustain Economic Growth/Honda of the UK Manufacturing Ltd,South Marston Swindon submitted by DPAS Ltd

Excellence in Plan making Practice
Torpoint Vision Torpoint,Cornwall submitted by Jillings Heynes Planning

Bristol Temple Quarter Spatial Framework submitted by Bristol City Council (City Design Group)

Stroud District Local Plan, Stroud submitted by Stroud District Council

Using Landscape Character Assessments in Neighbourhood Planning submitted by Fiona Fyffe Associates Ltd

Excellence in Planning to Create Economically Successful Places
Salcombe Gin Distillery, Salcombe, Devon submitted by Adams +Collingwood, Architects, London

Excellence in Planning for the Natural Environment
Water Space Project, Bath submitted by Water Space Partnership, Bath & NE Somerset Council

Plymouth Strategic Landscape and Seascape Character and Sensitivity Study submitted by Plymouth City Council

Victory Oak Housing, St Leonards, Ringwood submitted by Sovereign Housing Association

Excellence in Planning for Built Heritage
Old Railway Quarter, Swindon submitted by Swindon Borough Council/Thomas Homes Ltd


The Winners for the RTPI South West Awards for Planning Excellence 2016


Winner:  Plan for Homes  submitted by Plymouth City Council.


The Court House, Plymouth (conversion of the former Greenbank prison to provide 65 self contained student flats + a new Aldi Store) submitted by Plymouth City Council.

The Octagon Chapel, Bath (conversion to a restaurant) submitted by Bath and NE Somerset Council.

Paignton Strategic Masterplans (Paignton Town Centre and Collaton St Mary) (submitted by Stride Treglown)

The  2016 Awards were sponsored jointly by WYG and Stride Treglown.     

The Winners for the RTPI South West Awards for Planning Excellence 2015

The RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence highlight exceptional examples of planning and celebrate the contribution that planners and planning make to society. South West Entries recieved into the National Awards are judged independantly in a seperate awards programme by a dedicated committee of judges with a multitude of planning experience. The South West submissions are 
assessed within two categories:

a) Schemes on the Ground, and
b) Other Planning Work (i.e. strategies, policy documents, action plans).

Winners were presented with their certificates on Tuesday 28 July at Custom House, Exeter Quay. Photos are available here

Read the news release here

The Results

Overall Winner of the RTPI SW Awards for Planning Excellence 2015 and also the Award for the Joint Best Entry in the 'Schemes on the Ground' category.

Exe Estuary Trail Project

Exe Estuary Trail Presentation 

From left to right: Simon Lamb (Parsons Brinckerhoff), Roger North (Parsons Brinckerhoff), Mike Deaton (Devon County Council), Hayley Stokes (Devon County Council), Councillor Stuart Hughes (Cabinet member responsible for Cycling – with the trophy), The Chairman of the Council – Councillor Christine Channon (with the plaque) and obviously Paul Barnard, (Assistant Director, Strategic Planning & Infrastructure, Plymouth City Council (Panel Chair)






THE PLYMOUTH PLAN  Award for the best entry in the 'Other Planning Work' category


HANHAM HALL  Highly Commended

J3 DEVELOPMENT Award for the Joint Best entry


A word from our sponsors:

"WYG  a consultancy with a significant national planning business are honoured and pleased to have been associated with this prestigious completion for many years, this year in particular the standard of entries was very high, and whilst all the schemes and plans were very different they all exhibited planning excellence as the short listing and being winners in the national awards testifies. The winning scheme, the Exe estuary trail, exemplifies partnership working, tenacity, and considerable successful consultation, to produce an important leisure and tourist facility"

David Lowin MRTPI, Director of Planning, WYG

RTPI South West would like to thank WYG for their continued support and sponsorship of our annual awards programme.

Past Awards

Forthcoming events
View all Events
Get involved

Contribute to your Institute. Join a network, become a Mentor, volunteer for Planning Aid England, stand in the RTPI annual elections... and more.

See what you can do